

VENUE

Charlemagne building of the European Commission 170, Rue de la Loi / Boulevard Charlemagne - Brussels

CONFERENCE PRESIDENT

Petteri Tiippana (STUK, Finland)

CONFERENCE MODERATOR

Ann MacLachlan

STEERING COMMITTEE MEMBERS

Chairman: Frédéric Joureau (ASN, France)
Liz Bibby (ONR, United Kingdom)
Fernando Franco Matilla (CSN, Spain)
Ludivine Gilli (ASN, France)
Eva Gratzer-Heilingsetzer (BMLFUW, Austria)
Kaisa-Leena Hutri (STUK, Finland)
Marko Kravos (European Commission)





→ WEDNESDAY 28 JUNE 2017

8:30 • 9:45

INTRODUCTORY SESSION

CONFERENCE PRESIDENT

Petteri Tiippana

STUK Director General, Finland

Maroš Šefčovič

European Commission Vice-President

Pierre-Franck Chevet

ENSREG President

Dominique Ristori

European Commission, Director General for Energy

Juan Carlos Lentijo

IAEA Deputy Director General for Nuclear Safety and Security

Kirill Komarov

Rosatom, First Deputy CEO, Russia

Dominique Minière

EDF, Executive Director in charge of the Nuclear and Thermal Fleet, France

9:45 • 10:30

PAUSE

PRESS CONFERENCE



1

→ WEDNESDAY 28 JUNE 2017

10:30 • 12:30

SESSION 1

SPENT FUEL AND RADIOACTIVE WASTE MANAGEMENT

Main Speaker:

Gerassimos Thomas

European Commission, Deputy Director General for Energy

Panelists (statements and discussion)

Helmut Fischer

Federal Ministry of Agriculture, Forestry, Environment and Water Management, Austria

Tiina Jalonen

Posiva Director, Finland

Jo Nettleton

Environment Agency, Deputy Director for Radioactive Substances Regulation, UK

Johan Swahn

MKG (NGO Office For Nuclear Waste Review) Director, Sweden

Soraya Thabet

Andra, Safety, Environment and Waste Management Strategy Division Director, France

Questions and answers

12:30 • 14:00 BUFFET LUNCH



→ WEDNESDAY 28 JUNE 2017

14:00 • 16:00 SESSION 2

LICENSING OF NUCLEAR INSTALLATIONS

Main Speaker:

Richard Savage

ONR Chief Nuclear Inspector, UK

Panelists (statements and discussion)

François Beringer

Commission locale d'information et de surveillance (Clis) de Fessenheim, France

Bernard Fontana

Areva NP CEO. France

Michael Knochenhauer

SSM, Director for the Department of Nuclear Power Plant Safety, Sweden

Juha Poikola

TVO Public Relations Manager, Finland

Peter Prozesky

WANO CEO

Questions and answers



THURSDAY 29 JUNE 2017

9:00 • 10:30

SESSION 3

LONG TERM OPERATION OF NUCLEAR INSTALLATIONS

Main Speaker:

Etienne Dutheil

EDF, Nuclear fleet overhaul director, France

Panelists (statements and discussion)

Benoît De Boeck

BelV Director General, Belgium

Jan Haverkamp

Greenpeace Central and Eastern Europe

Krzysztof Kurek

National Center for Nuclear Research, Director General, Poland

Sasa Medakovic

SORNS Director General, Croatia

Antonio Munuera

CSN, Nuclear Safety Director, Spain

Hans Wanner

WENRA Chairman

Questions and answers

10:30 • 11:00

BREAK



THURSDAY 29 JUNE 2017

11:00 • 12:30

SESSION 4

IRREGULARITIES AND SUPPLY CHAIN CONTROL

Main Speaker:

Pierre-Franck Chevet

ASN Chairman, France

Panelists (statements and discussion)

Stephen Burns

NRC Commissioner, USA

Bernard Fontana

Areva NP CEO, France

Massimo Garribba

European Commission, Directorate-General for Energy, Director for Nuclear energy, safety and ITER

Jean-Pierre Pietri

Quality Director, Airbus Safran Launchers, France

Ilse Tweer

Independent Scholar, Austria

Questions and answers

12:30 • 12:45 CLOSING REMARKS BY THE PRESIDENT

12:45 • 14:00 COCKTAIL AND FINGER FOOD



→ ENSREG

The European Nuclear Safety Regulators Group (ENSREG) is an independent, expert advisory group created in 2007 following a decision of the European Commission. It is composed of senior officials from the national nuclear safety, radioactive waste safety or radiation protection regulatory authorities and senior civil servants with competence in these fields from all 28 Member States in the European Union and representatives of the European Commission.

As an independent authoritative expert body, ENSREG is working to:

- improve the cooperation and openness between Member States on nuclear safety and radioactive waste issues;
- improve the overall transparency on nuclear safety and radioactive waste issues;
- and as appropriate, advise the European Commission on additional European rules in the fields of the safety of nuclear installations and the safety of the management of spent fuel and radioactive waste.

ENSREG is coordinating the Topical Peer Review process, with the support of the Western European Nuclear Regulators Association (WENRA), which suggested the expected scope and content of national assessment reports.

